Awards Reviews

  • Reviews by newspaper/Media
  • Customer Reviws
  • Add your Review

Reviews by newspaper/Media



Hairy Bikers Newspaper Poster


Tripadvisor - Certificate of Excellence 2011


Food Hygiene Rating Kayal


Offering the best in global cuisine
Sep 2011


Kayal a dosa authenticity- Left lion
July 2011


Alison Curtis- Leicester Mercury
05/07/2009


English Travel writer Simon Calder speaks about Kayal


Leicester Comedy Festival News


Local Food Hero Award by Metro on
10/12/2008


Nottingham Evening Post on
11/04/2008

Midland's Healthiest Restaurant Award 2009


5* Nottingham Restaurant by Metro on
12/9/2007


Top Ten Indian Restaurant by Times on
11/04/2008


Nottingham Evening Post on
12/10/2007


Nottingham Evening Post


Nottingham Evening Post


Leicester Comedy Festival Function


Readers Choice Best New Comer by Metro on
12/12/2007


Nottingham Evening Post Survival Guide on
10/12/2007


Young Enterprise of the year


BEST NEWCOMER Kayal by Metro on
12/12/2007


Comedian Spiky Mike about Kayal


First 5 * review by Leicester Mercury on
02/03/2006

Customer Reviws

Out on Its Own by broads22 in Tripadvisor.com

Want a change from samey tasting curries and tired ingredients? Here's the place!They are very proud to be different and represent the southern Indian province of Kerala. Many of the items on the menu are unfamiliar, at least in name, and there's a heavy emphasis on seafood. But the friendly staff will guide you to something that you will enjoy.We started with chayakkadas, which are essentially different styles of popadums and similar served with slices of fried banana. The pickles served with it are freshly made and nothing short of tremendous. Arguably worth the £4.49 price tag.

We shared a mixed sea food platter. Another superb dish with crab in its shell, the most delicious squid and 'fish cutlet' - we'd probably call it a fish cake. Definitely worth the £8.89 because of the skillful preparation and quality ingredients.My missus wanted a fish dish for main course but something not too spicey and the waiter picked out 'meen proichatu', which is a marinated sea bass stuffed with prawns and chutney, served with spicey potatoes and lemon rice. The fish was just delicious - tender, succulent and loaded with flavour. One of the more pricey items on the menu at £12.49, but worth every penny.

I opted for 'cheera erachi', which is lamb and spinach curry. Another carefully prepared dish with very tender meat and loads of interesting flavours.And instead of nan or similar, try a dosa - it's something of a signature dish from south India, and it's expertly prepared here. The place itself, on a Saturday, was full with a lively atmosphere - hard to believe there's an economic crisis. The decor is simple with lots of wood and traditional artefacts, and the bright lighting helps to create an enjoyable ambience. The service was friendly and efficient - a 10% service charge is added to the bill., no complaints there.

All in all we paid £70 which included a couple of aperitifs and a decent bottle of wine.Out on its own Want a change from samey tasting curries and tired ingredients? Here's the place! They are very proud to be different broads22 on tripadvisor.com.

Kerala Food - The Best Asian Cuisine by tommy007 on trustedplaces.com

We have tried a Kerala restaurant called Kayal in Leicester. We think it is great and the best Asian cuisine we ever had. We recomend anyone to Kayal at 153 Granby street, also we heard that they have another Kayal in Nottingham.

Kayal: Southern Indian Cuisine

This restaurant opened August 2007, got rave reviews and still seems to be jam packed every night, including the cold damp Tuesday evening we ate there. The food is from the 'backwaters of Kerala, which means there is quite a lot more fish seafood options on the menu than in the run-of the-mill Indian restaurants. This time we went for a choice of ... 3 course veggie, some amazing fried bananas(boli), and mutton stew with'appam bread. It was all excellent, great value and the service was very friendly. The wine we ordered was not available so they gave us a more expensive bottle for the same price and instead of having to share the rice dessert they brought us an extra for free Virtualtourist.com.

The Only authentic Indian in Nottingham

We tried Kayal few times over last six months and I should say, it is the only authentic Indian restaurant in Nottingham. We go to all the restaurant especially the asian ones very often. Kayal gives perfect interior, charming staff and excellent south Indian food. I love their seafood dishes, especially the seabass, superb...also if you want an authentic Thali, try it. The restaurant has a great standard and quality when we compare the prices with few flashy Indian restaurants. We recomend Kayal to everyone. Tripadvisor.com.

Unique in Nottingham

I have eaten at a huge number of Indian Restaurants in Nottingham and while many are good this is unique for being so different. Beautifully cooked original dishes with delicate and subtle flavours were presented by attentive and friendly staff. Unlike Tom W we went late on Saturday and it was rammed. Great atmosphere though Andrew R.

Fantastic Experience all round

This is a fantastic authentic restaurant where you will not be disappointed by either the food, service or enviroment. My partner and I have eated there several times now and have been really impressed by the quality and flavour of the food, its so fresh and interesting. Its a real change to the usual fayre in Nottingham Sarah C.

Stunning

The quality of the food and service at Kayal is about as good as any I have experienced - including Michelin-starred restaurants. I hope they never compromise after such an auspicious start. As for the bill... I couldn't understand why they weren't charging more. Great work - loved it.Paul M.

Great Quality food, great place

I am a south indian who went to the restaurant hoping for authentic food. I was not disappointed with wonderful masala dosa and seafood dishes. Service was attenive and excellent and most of all it was at a very reasonable cost compared to other city centre restaurants. would definately go there again next time i am in Nottingham Vinod V.

We went to Kayal on the weekend and it was a great experience.The restaurant was packed and many people could not get in! The food in Kayal is Excellent and we thought, Kayal is the best Indian restaurant in Nottingham, with its quality of food and the personalised service. Great place and we highly recomend Kayal.

Franklin Thomson

We enjoied my birthday at Kayal. The food and staff are incredible. I have been to Kerala few years ago and the food in Kayal restaurant is even better than in Kerala. Wonderful atmosphere.We will be back. Kate Hacket Authentic taste. Good service and lots of varieties. I missed their Onam special though, but whoever went told me it was awesome.

Madhu Dharmarajan

I just heard from one of my friend in Leicester that Nottingham is going to have a South Indian Restaurant - especially Kerala cusine and I am really thrilled to hear that. I have travelled to India many times and I love Kerala food and culture. So waiting for the new restaurant and I wish them all the success.

Mark Samuel

I came to know from a leaflet that Kerala Restaurant is going to come to Nottingham, which can save my time since I used to travel to London to enjoy the wonderful cuisine. Nixon All the best for the new South Indian Restaurant. Dr. Madhavan - Birmingham.

Add your Review

Enter your Review for us

  • Name
  • E-mail Id
  • Your Review

VIDEO AND NEWS

Christmas at Kayal Hairy Bikers at Kayal Kayal - Spinach Dosa

 
Copyright ©Vantom Consultancy UK        Design by Touchpoint Systems